Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The need for small movements

It was our last day in Glasgow today. 

One of the things we did was to visit the Glasgow Museum of Modern Art. Outside is the famous statue of the 1st Duke of Wellington, always topped with a traffic cone it seems. I was using my iPhone at this point because my spare camera battery was in my suitcase.... Julie was using her iPad. 

I tried to explain that this image would look best with sky around the statue and how a small movement of the photographer would make a large difference in the image. We ended up in fits of laughter as Julie lurched from side to side - people who know her will understand that she is never still and does things with a flourish. I was crouched down close to the ground to take this shot - and I hope Julie does not publish the photo she took of me.

My extra is taken from the viewing platform of the Lighthouse. We saw interesting art here too. The people of Glasgow have been wonderful with us. On 3 different bus journeys we had people move so we could sit together. People answered our queries with friendliness and banter. It is very like Newcastle in this respect.

We also walked to the Peoples' Palace and loved the things we learned there about Glasgow, including tenement living. (We stayed in a tenement - much done up and with proper sanitation I hasten to add!)

The sun shone all the time too. It's been a great short break.

Back at home all went well and Mum was very happy with her carer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.