Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Synchronicity

For the past couple of weeks, I've heard cuckoos calling in Northumberland. Very soon afterwards I saw the first cuckoo flowers of this spring, otherwise known as lady's smock (Cardamine pratensis).  Then the orange tip butterflies were flying. These events are connected temporally.

In the early evening today I went to Gold Island. It's in the river North Tyne, near Wark. The river was low enough to allow me to walk across the river bed near the island. It is carpeted with bluebells. I was determined to see them before they finished. This is the best show I have ever seen here.

I planned to blip the bluebells, but on my way back to the car I spotted this cuckoo flower. To my delight, there was an orange tip sitting on one flowerhead. The temperature was still pleasant, but not was warm as when they were flitting around earlier today.

My extras are of the bluebells and a white forget me not (Myositis).

In other news, Mum and I went to Hexham this morning and she found 3 pairs of new trousers in Beales. They are all the correct length so do not need altering. RESULT! I found a new pair of trainers in Mountain Warehouse (to replace the stinking pair I had to leave in Myanmar). We had coffee in Costa (all on the flat) and met our neighbour, Sarah Fae there.

It's been an excellent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.