Rotterdam Aelbrechtskade

I really wanted to see a bit of Rotterdam by daylight so I set the alarm for 7am (6am UK time!) and went for a run before breakfast. Looking at the Google map I could see a canal nearby which I could follow all the way to the main waterfront. It was still very dark when I set off, but the first morning light was beautiful and I managed to time things so that I was able to get a good view of the sunrise. I spent a little too much time taking photographs so I ended up missing breakfast, but I'm not sure I could have fitted much in anyway after yesterday's gluttony.

The day has gone quite well. It may just be that everyone was too tired to argue very much. I have been finding that it's much easier to get decisions made just before a coffee break or just before lunch. I managed to sell the change in conceptual design that I came up with last night (although I should say that it was very much prompted by my colleague who made me confront the problems with the original design). No one has been left in any doubt about the complexity of what's involved. It's now my job to try to hide all that away behind a simple clean and slick interface.

I've chosen this shot today as being the most typical of the city that I have taken. I was fully expecting to post a moody sunrise but I've kind of fallen in love this one. It really appeals to me somehow. I'm back home now and reunited with the boys who flew back from New York this morning. Roam's been away for almost six weeks so we have a little bit of catching up to do! He's posted a very thoughtful blip tonight here. I'm very proud of him.

Thanks so much for all the wonderful comments over the last few days. What can I say. You're just a fantastic bunch of people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.