1500 Blips

This was taken along the Hoover Dam Railroad Trail overlooking Lake Mead. We took a nice 4-mile hike along this trail which runs through 5 tunnels that were blasted through the mountains in the 1930's to transport the huge turbines for the dam during its construction.  Came across some wonderful scenic vistas.  It's better in large. 

It seems I have hit another milestone, so soon after my 4 year anniversary.
When I started Blipfoto, I really knew very little about photography.  I believe my first image may have been an iPhone shot.  Here I am now, 1500 blips and several cameras later, and I am amazed at what I have learned, the wonderful people I have met and just how much Blipfoto has enriched my life.  As I  got closer to this milestone, I started to think about all those wonderful blippers that I have learned so much from and been inspired by. Here are just a few of them.  

*From rainie, I learned about and was inspired by her use of lensbabies, ICM, Flower Photography, and the PepVentosa technique.
*I had a personal workshop on waterfalls with Hobbs who also advised me to find the kind of photography I loved and work at it. I still love it all but I get the greatest pleasure from nature and wildlife photography, which is where I put most of my effort these days. I am always inspired by the beauty of his “grog shots,” "ambience imagery” and “dof doodles.” 
*isbi taught me about the special effects available in her camera and so I discovered them in my own.
*DBfulco has taught me all about birds and bugs, and an assortment of photography must-haves like the cotton carrier for my big lens, a backyard hide and how to create a backyard studio. 
*From Sefferdog, I learned about attracting Bluebirds and mealworm farming (yes I actually became a mealworm farmer).  
*From Hillyblips, I have learned the importance of patience and studying behavior.  
*From Photomatt, I have learned how to take less images, in order to make post-processing less painful - and am still working on that one.
*From Anni I have learned the power and joy of Blipmeets, and all kinds of travel tips. 
*By looking at the comments one day between Trisharooni and WWombat, just by chance learned about a fabulous window cleaning device, one of which I now own and love. :-)
*From my partner in crime, WRPerry I have learned how important it is to RTFM…..although I still let her read them and tell me about it.

I could go on and on, for I am daily inspired by the incredible images I see here and will always be eternally grateful for the comments, encouragement, and friendships Blipfoto brings my way.  AND...I think along the way my photography has improved a bit. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.