A lost age

Best viewed *larger*

I had a great lunch today with a friend & my dad. She took us on a guided tour not only at her most exciting building site of an art gallery - it's going to be amazing! But of the local historical building around the town of Barnstaple - they really lavished on their buildings back then, gave a feast for the eyes, a thing of beauty, it's certainly a lost age! These are the Penrose Almhouses built in 1627 with the money left by the Mayor of Barnstaple, John Penrose, who died in 1624. Beautifully kept, this is the courtyard in the sunshine, photos not taken by me, found via Google. We just wandered in, it was like a filmset, just waiting for hustle & bustle... or someone rather handsome to take up position for a scene in a play - I would have picked Benedict Cumberbatch myself! ;)

As for my poor wet robin:

Larry in waders

The massive clouds on the way back home were simply breathtaking, but I didn't have my big camera on me, just my little panasonic compact, the one I took this picture with. It was so cold when we returned, I put my hot blanket on in my bed & had a snooze. Still feel shattered though! xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.