Why something?

There is a philosophical question which manifests as variations on "why is there something rather than nothing?" If there was a Big Bang, then why did it happen? Why didn't the (non) universe persist in a state of the absence of anything at all?*

I'm not going to tackle that here (not least because I don't have an answer or, indeed, a plausible theory). I mention it because for whatever reason, it puts me in mind of 'Why Don't You?', the television programme from my youth, which, without any sense of irony, encouraged its young viewers to "switch off your television set and go and do something less boring instead".

Which is a long-winded way of introducing Simon Buckley's Not Quite Light weekend. Along with Brexit (on which we are both in general agreement), the merits of Jeremy Corbyn (some disagreement), this is something that Simon's been talking to me about for the best part of the last year.

To be clear, I am little more than a sounding board in this but it's been amazing to watch the whole event develop. The amount of work that's gone into it has been extraordinary and then there's the whole issue of getting people to come along. 'Build it and they will come' is a principle that very rarely works. (Hence the advertising industry.)

It would certainly have been easier for Simon not to do it. I've seen at close hand just how much work it's been and what a cause of stress it has been at times. So, why do it? I'm not even sure that I have a concise argument to that question either except perhaps that creativity is an urge that requires satisfaction. And maybe the desire to have one's art seen.

Whatever the answer, after the exhibition opening, last night (which I'm planning to get to next week), tonight was the 'Transition' event at the Sacred Trinity church, which I went along to with Hannah**. 

It was a splendid evening in a beautiful space. Perhaps my favourite performance was the Manchester Improvisors and the two pieces that they created. The frailty of these improvisations, their gentleness as they formed in the room before evaporating into the dark corners of the church, made them all the more beautiful. I could have listened to it for hours. 

The poster for the event had advertised readings by Julie Hesmondhalgh, who is someone I've never heard of but I recognised her straightaway although I couldn't think where I'd seen her. Hannah said that she did a lot of television work - Julie, not Hannah - but, as I don't have a TV, it seemed unlikely that that was how I knew her. And then I remembered, she's in the sublime video for 'St Anthony: An Ode to Anthony H Wilson' (see 0:45)

As for the 'From Trinity To The Crescent' piece, it was lovely. Snippets of electronica accompanying a projection of a nighttime tour of Salford, with readings by Simon over the top. 

Walking out afterwards, the question of 'why do it?' seemed almost laughable. I'm so glad that he did.

*Although quantum gravity suggests the impossibility of a Big Bang and posits a Big Bounce, where the previous universe contracted to Planck length and then exploded out again. I find this quite a seductive line of reasoning. 

**I had an interest in this particularly because the 'From Trinity To The Crescent' piece was jointly commissioned by Simon and my company. (By which I mean, he did all the hard work and our CSR budget funded it.) 

****
-12.4 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Reality Is Not What It Seems'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.