Crab apple blossom

My parents' garden is currently full of blossom, and the crab apple is the champion tree, as blipped.

This morning my friend Janie paid us a visit. I invited her over because the last time that I stayed at my parents' house I found some intriguing papers in a box in my bedroom, and I thought that Janie would be interested in them.

The papers date from 1938 and 1939. Their content can be pieced together to tell a great story about an event at Christmas 1939, in which my great great aunt Sarah played a key, yet apparently unacknowledged, part. If only the Dangerous Women Project were still live, I would write a contribution all about her.

Janie is an independent radio documentary producer, and now that she has heard the story that I have uncovered, she is keen to investigate it further with a view to selling it packaged up as a 30 minute programme to Radio 3 or 4 for broadcast at Christmas next year (2019). The next step in the process is for Janie to read her way through the papers, then carry out some further research at the British Library next week.

By lunchtime I was beginning to feel a little woozy, so I retired to my bed until it was time to leave for the station and our journey home to Edinburgh by train. I cannot tell if this feeling is related to my treatment, or whether I am just tired after a busy (but fun) weekend. I just wish that it would go away!

Tomorrow will be my last week of daily radiotherapy appointments. I am looking forward to being 'cured' by Friday ;-)

Exercise today: small amount of walking (6212 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.