Sunny Sunday

No One was up early, but I got up at 8.30 to make tea and took a walk up the garden to check on the chicks. Both parents are actively out and about getting food for the 6, 7, 8 hungry mouths. I've counted 5 open at one time, but they are still one mass of squirming body, with bulbous eyes still closed and bald little bodies like mini oven ready chickens. It is impossible to see if all 8 hatched and survived, but as they grow I should be able to see more. It is fascinating to watch.

It was a tidying and sorting out day. After lunch I did some weeding. It was too hot to go to the allotment, but tomorrow evening I will take my runner beans down and plant them. I planted some mange tout and a courgette in the garden. I have so many.

While it was still warm Henry lit the barbeque and we ate outside. At about 8, I persuaded Jon to come with me to the beach at West Runton for a walk with the detector. Alas, still no finds, but fun trying. We were surprised how cold it was, with quite a sharp biting wind. As we drove home, the mist was rolling in off the sea and surrounding us.

I've started to make the adjustments to my book on the original word doc, and am still going through the proof with my orange highlighter. Hopefully I can get it done this week, ready to resubmit next weekend.

I have a busy week ahead of me, so will get off to bed now. A productive and enjoyable weekend - let's hope the mood continues into the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.