The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Warp and Weft at rest

Here are Warp and West, the canal's equivalent of mud-cludgie boats, at rest after a hard day's toil. Between them lies the dredger, Augustus Gloop. They've been at work down at Bowbridge lock, which has now been rebuilt by volunteers. Augustus scoops up the mud, dumps it into one of the boats, which then proceeds upstream, where a huge orange crane scoops out the muck and dumps it higher up the bank, between the canal and the railway. Meanwhile, Augustus is filling up the other boat...

I walked to work and back along the canal. It was exceedingly hot. At the rehab I've been given my marching orders from the end of July. Fourteen years of teaching aromatherapy! I think this was originally going to be an eight week course. Of course I shall miss the money, but effectively this change frees up a whole day. I wonder what shall take its place? The reason given is financial. The rehab is feeling the pinch, and college/ institutional services are cheaper.

At the same time, I've set up a meeting with some WEA leaders, for June. I've had some ideas for expanding our provision in Stonehouse. That could be exciting...

Almost as soon as I got home, the thunder storm began. Steve returned from a day trip, and together we watched the rain soaking the garden.

I cooked another delicious supper. The great thing about the recipes I'm using is that they take hardly any time, and taste great, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.