Frank Gehry Buildings, Düsseldorf, Germany

Düsseldorf is like Rotterdam -- bombed out sufficiently during WW2 so that the only way was up and forward -- new buildings with what was viewed as a kind of experimental architecture, refreshing for some, obnoxious for others, intriguing for many.  I tend to belong to the third group when it comes to modern architecture, which Rotterdam certainly has a lot of.  The Dutch have Rem Koolhaas and while some of his work is grand, some of it is also, well, shall we say, unattractive.  Like the building called The Rotterdam, near the Erasmus Bridge, which I might shoot one day when I'm in an ugly mood.  I hope not.  These buildings you see here form what is called the Neuer Zollhof ('neuer' = new, 'zollhof' = Customs) commercial area -- shops, cafe's.

After the usual housekeeping in the morning, off I went.  Google Maps is really good.  I study up to the minutest alleys in detail and memorize exactly which roads to take and which corners to expect.  Loads better than GPS as I don't believe in trusting a device completely, especially as I've seen how it can give confusing instructions.  Of course, I note down the most important roads on a slip of paper which I then take with me.  Used Google last time with Schloss Dyke and Neuss ('Noise') and today it worked just perfectly again.  One thing I really appreciate about Germany -- cheap parking!

These buildings are along the old 'haven', close to the Rheinturm, or Rhine Tower, which has a restaurant and bar at the top (where else) and is normally open, but for some reason was closed today.  I have a feeling it's being renovated, but no matter.  There's the Euromast in Rotterdam which I have yet to visit.  Something to look forward to, actually.  I also discovered that Düsseldorf has its own little beach.  Did not take any shots there but I did go up the bridge that leads to it and got to take pictures of some of the boating activities.  Aside from the Rhine Tower and Frank Gehry buildings, though, and a couple more further along the Rhine, can't say there's much else.  For once, I found someone, a visiting Spaniard, actually, who agreed to take a couple of shots of me.  Such fun!  So now I can finally say I've 'done Düsseldorf'.  Extras for you ...

James Taylor is still playing in the car.  It really is just my thing right now, driving off somewhere and reminiscing about some nice times en route.  And what did AW do while I was out?  The garden and the hammock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.