Last Autumn's Apples

When we moved into our house, there was nothing but old allotments and wasteland beyond the garden fence, and one big tree. Munching apples out in the garden, we'd throw the apple cores over the rather flimsy fence.

As time wore on, the ground was cleared to build a new primary school, but the patch of land next to us, was allowed to grow into woodland. Guess what, seeds from the apple cores sprouted and we have two lovely apple trees growing over our fence now.

These are two from last Autumn's crop. Len wrapped each fruit in paper to protect it and laid it in a box. We haven't been eating them quickly enough. Although dessert apples, they taste very well when tossed with leeks or onions into a roast pork dish, which is what happened with these two this afternoon.

Walked to church for coffee morning this morning. Cooler because the wind has turned round to the northeast. Then a doze in the conservatory and, I actually cooked dinner for the first time since I had my operation.

Then a drive down the M1 to Market Harborough where I was judge for this evening's contest at the Market Harborough Photographic Society. Couldn't have done that without Len driving. He took Basil for walks in Welland Park while I was busy.

In other news... young Basil has been procuring himself a following on Flickr. I posted a photo of him yesterday taken at 4.30 am with my phone. Couldn't even see anything on the screen when I clicked the shutter. Good thing there was flash. The photo was a for a weekly photo challenge on a Flickr group. This week it was U for Upside Down.

As I write, this photo of Basil has been viewed 10,778 times since yesterday! Unbelievable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.