Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Newly Arrived

To keep my mind off this afternoon's dreaded root canal, I went for a wander in a great wildlife area about 25 minutes from here.  The grass on the trails was wet, heavy with dew, and that kept some of the insects more inert than usual.  I spied this teneral (newly "born") Common Baskettail dragon and aimed my 300 mm at her.  I crept ever closer, inching my way step by wet step until she finally flew.  This was one of the closest shots so required minimal cropping and no other edits.  

Meanwhile, back at home, I discovered a Potter's wasp also using one of my bee house holes.  She was working hard sealing up her hole, meaning that she's left an egg in there along with something for her larva to eat when it emerges.  If you'd like to see her, you can click HERE to go to Flickr.

Okay, I'm off to the dentist now.  Wish me luck...

xo
Debbi

Post Script/. I’ve survived the root canal. Still totally numb but have been warned that I will be quite sore for a few days, so a soft diet. I’m thinking gnocchi with pesto....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.