Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Silly Jays

I was watching the blue jays this morning - there are a group of five that comes around throughout the day - and noticed that one of them was trying to grab suet from a hanging feeder "on the wing".  Now, usually the jays just land on the feeder, lean over, and gobble suet.  So this one trying the aerial approach was very entertaining.  And, as you can see, it was a somewhat successful strategy as he has a nice bite of suet in his beak.

And, in the interest of full disclosure, I cloned out a bit of the feeder that was in the upper part of the frame.  Artistic license.  

I did some more pottering in the garden...planting some lantana, picking some weeds, hanging another mason bee house (more on that later).  Then off to run a longish errand with hubs and back to do some more pottering.  

I'm dosing up on ibuprofen for my tooth which is becoming quite painful - making me glad the appointment for the root canal is tomorrow.  And, I heard from my neurosurgeon's office that the insurance approved my MRI, so I'm on for Tuesday morning - me, some Valium and the Tunnel of Terror.

Two other pics on Flickr, if you'd like to take a look.  A very puffy nuthatch and the return of my kitchen-window orbweaver Spidey.  I think Spidey may have overwintered in the outside molding of the window - either that or an identical orb weaver has taken her place.  By the way, don't look if you don't like spiders!  Usually she only comes out after dark, adding to the creep factor.

Needing a shower after all the gardening activity.  And needing another dose of ibuprofen.  Or maybe wine instead.  Hard to say...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.