Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Kestrel on the Wing

(I'd already posted an image earlier - of our cat sleeping off her exertions in the lounge while a small deceased dunnock lay on the decking outside the window.  I had a change of heart after a late walk up the local nature reserve).

I don't often go out walking in the evening.  I'm more of a morning person.  However, I hadn't got out much today, save for more garden DIY, so after dinner I headed out with the long lens to see what I could find.    

first thing I saw was a song thrush, high in one of the trees.  They're a regular sight, particularly in this reserve.  I was more excited by something I almost missed; a little grebe, incubating two eggs on the nest less than 6 ft from the towpath.  I took too much interest and it vacated the nest and dived under the water, so I didn't hang around for long, not wishing any harm to come to the eggs' contents.  While I did take some shots, the shutter speed robbed me of any sharpness of image.

Finally, I was just chatting to another couple walking their dog when I saw this kestrel in the distance.  For once it came closer and closer as it surveyed the field below.  This isn't my normal luck with birds of prey, but on this occasion it kept repositioning nearer and nearer until at one point it was almost directly above.  I preferred this longer shot with the low sun catching it's wing and body.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.