Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Poor Workman.......

.....always blames his tools.

Thank you for the sympathy and advice after the lament to my creaking bones last night.  I'd have loved to follow the advice and have a day off today, were it not for a weather forecast of thunderstorms and rain for the next couple of days.  I wanted to try and get the small area of hard landscaping finished before the weekend so we can concentrate on the pleasure of populating the bare borders that have been created.

All was going well.  I'd lain the clay pavers for under the bench and put down the whole slabs.  From then on everything required cutting to fit.  I'd bought a cheap angle grinder, on the advice of the store, and started to cut the first slab.  Unfortunately the advice appeared quite poor as the cutting disc seemed to melt as it made contact with the slab.  I soon needed to change it for a fresh disc, but that was where the trouble continued.  No matter how hard I tried I couldn't release the disc.  

There was much muttering under my breath as I tried everything I could to release the nut holding the disc.  I even got out the portable vice (you can see it on the bench), but how ever much I tightened, it slipped before the nut budged at all.  Even liberal spraying with WD40 didn't help.  Looks like I'm back to the store tomorrow.

At least if it is raining when I get round to cutting the slabs, it will damp down the inevitable dust produced by the cutting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.