Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Grand Union Walk

The introduction of new railway timetables has opened up new possibilities for destinations without having to change trains from our local station.  While the ultimate is a direct service to London Euston, I took advantage of a shorter journey to Hampton in Arden this morning, before walking over to Catherine-de-Barnes to join the Grand Union Canal Walk.

The total distance back into Birmingham is about 12 miles and it was a glorious day to stretch my legs.  Lots of young chicks around on the water; I even saw another kingfisher (well at least a streak of iridescent blue!).  

For much of the walk it was a green artery heading in towards the heart of the city.  Despite the urban environment it was hidden behind the mature trees and bushes that line the canal edge.  Only in the last 2 or so miles did the industry start to dominate the view.  

Just in the last mile I came across a graffiti artist.  When he saw me with a camera he pulled out a large neckerchief and covered his face.  We struck up a conversation and he even allowed me to take a shot of him at work.  He told me there was a tradition of this type of art in the area and it was hard to argue with him as most hard vertical surfaces along the canal were colourfully adorned with various shades of spray paint.  I passed on but did feel for him when I noticed two police bicycles on the towpath just a few hundred yards further along.  I hoped they had other priorities.

I made it into the city centre at lunchtime.  I'd seen a news article that the Knife Angel was currently in Victoria Square.  It truly is an impressive statue, made of knifes handed in during an amnesty.  More details on its construction are available on the British Ironworks Centre website.

There are times when it is really difficult to choose just one image to record the day and this was one in point.  Thankfully, extras are available so I've also included the graffiti artist, some of the art along the canal and I also took a photograph of the new memorial to the Birmingham pub bombings victims.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.