Fabulous day

This week in Madeira has been very different for me. I’m used to coming alone and getting swept along socially with old friends or just lively regulars. Although the hotel is full, many are newcomer couples, some on taster visits (with a view to buying timeshares in the new building).

I’ve never had the pools to myself.
I’ve never known the bar so empty.

So, I’m exploring. I’m doing things on impulse (like hailing the bus and heading for a new restaurant.)

I wandered down to the town, passing the marina, and it occurred to me that it’s a while since I went out on one of the boats. My impulse was to sign up (the timing was perfect) with the company I went with when I first came, all those years ago. Vitor remembered me. The catamaran sailed out and I could see the changes in the coastline, the new build, the damage the sea and winds have done. The weather was beautiful.

The resident pod of bottle-nosed dolphins were on form. Two appearances while we were still close to the shore. You could probably have spotted them from the sunloungers with a decent pair of binoculars.

I didn’t get the best shots. I didn’t get any shots of the turtles. To my mind, it’s seeing them, enjoying the magic and not missing a thing with the naked eye that really counts.

But it was wonderful.......

There’s a trumpet recital this evening at the Conservatorio..... and time for another swim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.