Having a pier around

Today began clear and ended up full of people. Lots of unexpected conversations with people as I walked around the town with Nate... The most moving was with a homeless guy called Ricardo - he has fantastic English and is obviously well-educated. Danny knows him much better than I do, but today I had quite a while with him listening to his story and his thoughts on life. One thing he said was that people see him as having been homeless all of his life, as if he's done nothing with his life and has nothing to offer... Actually he's only been homeless a few years, and that's through sad life circumstances and a bad choice (his words)... A privilege to spend time with him today. I'd so love to be able to do more than meet an immediate need of hunger of dirty clothes. 
Later in the day we went to the park with Asha and Nate...we met another family with a young baby a month older than Nate, and quickly realised we have James and Rich as friends in common! 

Drama of the day;
Cockroach in the flat! Argh!!!

Today I'm grateful for;
1) Danny.dealing with cockroach-gate.
2) People like Ricardo - so inspiring. In the face of such adversity (including regular bouts of pneumonia) he remains a grateful and compos mentis  person.
3) Having a roof over my head and a community around me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.