Flower Friday : : Still pretty

The weather is dreich and cold today. In fact, going out in search of flowers, or anything else, is not appealing. I tweaked my back this morning brushing the lint off my best sweatshirt. Then I realized as I was headed out the door that it was raining, so I had to change the sweatshirt for a raincoat anyway.  I moved around on my Pilates mat like the little old lady that I suppose I am. I certainly felt like it. And why is it that when bending over is not a choice, I keep dropping things?

The 'bouquet' of roses and sweet peas by the front door is well past its prime and dropping petals everywhere, but I like the way the colors become more brilliant instead of fading with the passage of time. I'm not quite ready to consign them to the compost heap. 

Having rather eccentrically solved the Flower Friday challenge, I began looking around for something else I could do without moving from my chair...and my eye fell upon a copy of the New Yorker magazine and an article titled: McMaster and Commander and subtitled: Can a national security advisor retain his integrity if the President has none?

I was quite entertained reading about how, according to a former staffer,  the daily briefings compiled by the National Security Council for Trump were winnowed down from multiple page explanations of policy and strategy to a single page. According to a former staffer, aides claiming that the President is a 'visual person',  announced that it was 'still too much' and asked  that points be described 'pictorially'. I couldn't help wondering, 'does anybody know where they keep the crayons in the White House?'

 The former staffer continued, that everything that needs to be conveyed to the President must be boiled down, to "two or three points, with the syntactical complexity of 'See Jane Run' " For those of you who didn't grow up in this country during my generation, 'See Jane run' was an example from classic school readers. We all learned to read from them in the 50's and 60's when we were about 4 or 5 years old.

For a moment there as I relived my kindergarten days, I almost forgot that I was reading about the President of the United States....

I'll finish the article later to find out if McMaster has maintained his integrity. He's still there...or at least he was yesterday....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.