Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hexham's Bonfire Night

I was in town tonight to see the bonfire lit before going on to a meal out with friends before the Kathryn Tickell concert.

Here is the bonfire before the blaze. There was very little light so this is a long exposure. (Many of tonight's photos were taken at ISO 6400 and several seconds long.) Some people have gone to a lot of trouble to make the Houses of Parliament and all the effigies. The little boy next to me was sure that James Bond was one of them! Do I spot Guy Fawkes in there though? Confusing if it is.

We were treated to a drumming and dancing display by a group of young people dressed mainly as cowboys and Indians, although the dancing girls were just scantily clad. Then the bonfire was lit. More here.

I had to run to make it to the restaurant, but first I had to make my way through a crowd that was at least 20 deep.

The concert later was wonderful. They used interviews with sheep farmers and folk musicians in Northumberland to make commentaries spoken between or with the music. It was very moving and beautifully done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.