Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Nature watching and writing

I recently read a book I had picked up on a sale table because I liked the cover..”the Anthropology of Turquoise.  Reflections on Desert, Sea, Stone, and Sky.” by Ellen Meloy.  The “turquoise” was a tube of paint.  “Turquoise” is close to “Aquamarine”.. my color.   It’s 15 essays mostly about the author’s beloved SW desert landscape and rivers, nature writing at it’s best, in my opinion.. It’s unique, poetic, lyrical, historical, passionate about the natural world…and funny, even hilarious!  I thoroughly enjoyed it, wishing I could write.  But I am reminded of the satisfaction in being mindful of the physical world, and really seeing it.
I was thinking i’d use some of our water as the blip..it’s rarely aquamarine here but the sun was shining on the dock and you can see some sea stars on the piling..but nowhere else nearby....if you mix the colors, you can imagine turquoise/aquamarine..…but now you have to go to my other journal to see that....



For I had to blip the reunion of Mother robin with her babies!  After we were the cause of their nest falling yesterday.  Of course the first thing this morning I came out to check on the nest…climbing the ladder…they were sleeping, but all 3 breathing.   That’s good.  But no sign of Mom.   Then in the afternoon when I got to my studio, there she was feeding them every 15 minutes!  I’m so relieved! and also totally delighted that I have this close up view…and the time to just enjoy the watching. The chores will wait…  A few times there were 2 adult robins..one chasing the other away from the nest..not sure what that's about... these birds are pretty big but still have lots of skin not covered by feathers.   I'll keep watching....they get so exited when Mom comes with goodies. I think they should be  safe where they are. 
a few more in extras.....humm one would not stay there...oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.