Laundry

The prodigal son... home for a few weeks over the summer.

Well, not quite yet. But the first two loads of dirty laundry arrived today, along with the ice hockey kit which will ferment nicely in that sunny spot.

Football was more in my thoughts tonight. My (late) dad played. He had one game for Aberdeen and they wanted him to sign professionally. He chose to stay amateur and train as a lawyer instead, joining Queen's Park.

He was a bit frustrated about my school forcing rugby on me - a sport he showed no interest in until I'd stopped playing.

Anyway, in the 70s I often went to watch Aberdeen, but when I ended up living in the West of Scotland my football interest almost evaporated. The Celtic - Rangers fixation gave me the creeps (still does).

After the move to Fife, a decision to take my son to Fife Flyers v Basingstoke Bison one snowy Saturday in January 2000 took my/our sporting interest off in the ice hockey direction.   

Life can be quite random, and all too short for some of us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.