I'M NOT IN THE MOOD.....

…..for faffing around trying to get a shot for Tiny Tuesday, so decided to take a shot of the garden, which is looking good now that the poppies are beginning to bloom.

We brought these beautiful red poppies from Mr. HCB’s mother’s garden, after she died in 1996 and they have bloomed every year since - in fact, we have split the clumps several times;  they continue to flourish and always look good against the blue fence behind.  Joan loved her garden and she would be delighted to know that these poppies are still blooming and of course, they always remind us of her when we see them.

If anyone is interested in some seeds (in the UK only, I’m afraid, as it is not permitted to send seeds abroad) please let me know and I will save some of the seed heads and send them if you email me your name and address.

As I said yesterday, it was very quiet with no activity from the nest box and we didn’t see a great tit at all - Mr. HCB is going to open up the box tomorrow - and I’m not looking forward to it.

My foot and ankle are badly swollen and sore from yesterday’s bites so I rang the surgery this morning and am waiting for a callback from the nurse, even as I type.  I don’t think I will be doing much walking today but am even more thankful that it has happened at home and not whilst we were away for our Golden Wedding.

The lesson I have thoroughly learnt, 
     and wish to pass on to others, 
          is to know the enduring happiness 
               that the love of a garden gives. 
Gertrude Jekyll

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.