Backlit

Oof, quite a day. Popped in early to see PN, whom I've been mentoring this year. Coffee - and passed some books to her that were sent to me in duplicate. And made a little plan for next year. Let's see if it comes off.

Met the rest of the Collegium crowd at the pier on Kauppatori, where I found myself inexplicably drawn towards a takeaway plate of small fish to get me started. Out to Vallisaari, for lunch and then a guided walk which really added a great deal to my understanding of the place, of neighbouring Suomenlinna and also of Finnish history. Exactly the right sort of guide. Then back on the boat, which stopped off in a couple of places on Suomenlinna before heading back towards the city, but stopping off on Lonna. Grabbed some (excellent) food and drink sitting outside the restaurant, before enjoying the sauna. Our - by now dwindling - band of colleagues entered into the spirit of it by dipping in the freezing Baltic. Very invigorating. I was lucky enough to catch a boat straight after the sauna, as I was starting to fade by then. I think the others were happy to have another drink before heading home. My blip was captured with the long lens whilst I was waiting at the tram stop. Too tired to blip last night and too busy today (am back blipping) to process all of the pictures of the islands. That will have to wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.