Oslo to Bergen

We arrived in Bergen this afternoon after an uneventful train journey from Oslo. When I say uneventful I mean it left on time arrived more or less on time and stopped at all the scheduled stations on the way.

The view from the window was anything but uneventful. We started with green fields edged with forest. Moved through lakes and rivers bordered by forest with snow topped mountains in the distance. Travelled further and further until these mountains moved closer and then suddenly we were on them. Climbing up them and going through them in many tunnels. There were blue, blue lakes on the mountains and turquoise blue rivers running into and out of them. Eventually the lakes appeared to get bigger until we realised they had actually become Fjords all connected to each other and to the sea.

I took lots of images with my iPhone and with my camera. It was hard to choose which one to use but I guess our extras were given to us for just such eventualities.

Main Image = The station at Flam where the Flam railway connects with this one and takes passengers further up into the mountains.

Extras - A small selection of my attempts to capture the stunning views along the journey.

More images from Igor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.