Wild Wednesday ....

..... And it lived up to it's name!

I was planning on going to the grocery store this morning but then decided not to in the end ..... that decision could have changed the way the day went. 

Around 3:00 this afternoon as I was going out to get the mail I noticed some water puddling up in the back room by the back door.  I really didn't think much of it .... but I cleaned it up after moving some stuff out of the water.  I really couldn't find the source .... but I kept having to mop up more and more water.  

Richard had an appointment at 4:00 and called me before hand .... I told him about the water and then showed it to him when he got home about an hour later.  He immediately went to the crawl space where the hot water heater is kept.  Bingo!  That was the source! 

Unfortunately ..... the water traveled from the crawl space through the carpeted spare bedroom and then into the back foyer.  Needless to say the rest of the evening was spent cleaning up the water and pulling the hot water heater out.  It's toast!

For now R has the hot water turned off but he was able to connect some pipes so that we could have cold water at least.  Tomorrow morning he will go buy a new hot water heater and begin the installation.  

So yes .... it's been a wild day! If I had only stayed with my original plans on going to the grocery I might have seen the leak a lot earlier. 

My collage has all my regular Wild Wednesday collage participants .... see the tags for identification!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.