Rodents rule

By squirk

Burst

The express bus wasn’t living up to its name on the way home. A burst water main on the high street is going to take some days to mend and there are temporary tragic lights and road closures. I wasn’t too bothered by the delay as I had some good reading material, but other passengers were overriding the driver’s authority and pressing the emergency release door button to exit. There’s not much the driver can do except close the doors as fast as he can. Officially, the express can’t open its doors until its first stop, which is right before the roadworks. It took 45 minutes to travel a distance that takes 15 minutes to walk.

For folk going further than West Norwood, there’s not much of an option except to stay on the bus. As always, I admired the endless patience of the mother who gets on the express with her toddler. He wasn’t best pleased with either the heat or being stuck indoors, but his mum skilfully dampened several meltdowns. Amazing lady.

I was looking forward to a good thunderstorm (only when in the office or at home), but it hasn’t yet arrived. This is despite all the yellow warning alerts that Met Office is sending my phone and the pressure headache of my forecasting skull.

I enjoyed a lovely pizza lunch today with five fab ladies from the office. My programme recommendations for the weekend are “The Windsor’s” royal wedding episode, and something called “First dates”. I’ve been told the first is wicked and the second is compelling. That’s my weekend sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.