If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

30 Days Wild Day 2 - Rana temporia.

The day of the 55th Anniversary of Nantmor Mountain Centre.  Celebrations began with a buffet at lunch time.  This had 2 high points.  Firstly Brenig G (an old lecturer of mine and President of the Association) was able to attend and address the assembly.  A minor miracle following a stroke which put him in hospital for a couple of month.  He was showing no sign of weakness on either side of his body.  

The  second was the launch of "The Nantmor Mountain Centre 50 years plus".  At the 50th anniversary a "in house" publication was available.  This was a black and white spiral bound book.  However it was felt it didn't do justice to a couple of people on whom most of the credit for the formation and survival of the centre rests.  Both sadly passed on the mountain ranges in the sky - Arthur Stowe & Jack Henson.

Between lunch and the evening BBQ "Tush" & Phil persuaded me to go for a walk "up the back" towards Cnicht.  This was to be my first real venture into the mountains since my hip replacement.  I suppose I was lacking in confidence but I knew if any thing went wrong they would be able to get me down.  We met the blip sitting beside the track and he fitted in well with my "Go wild in June" attempt.  The walk resulted in 12,000 steps.

The extra is Brenig speaking passionately about the history of the centre and equally if not more importantly the community and people of the Nantmor valley from Iron age to present day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.