Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Stinking iris

Iris foetidissima..

Well it's been a rather dull grey day.  Now I've got my shot, the sun's come out of course, but anyway, stinking irises seem to like lingering in the shade so I guess it wouldn't have made a whole heap of difference.  Should you wish to know, they get their name because - and I quote - they smell sickly sweet when crushed.  I am aware that as an eager blipper I should have tested this out.  I didn't ;-)

The other high point of my day was buying a new kitchen bin.  The excitement almost overwhelmed me.  I expect you have days like this too.

Enjoy your evening  xx

2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze);  Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot;  Primroses;  Blackthorn
APRIL
Greater periwinkle;  Goat willow;  Ground ivy;  Cowslips;  Daisy;
Common field speedwell;  Wood anemone;  Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock);  Yellow archangel;  Common dog violet;
Crab apple;  Bluebell;  Red clover;  Germander speedwell;
Three-cornered leek;  Hawthorn;  Yellow flag; dandelion;  Common vetch; Dog rose;  Green alkanet;
JUNE
Bramble;  Stinking iris;

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.