When you're not camping

The opening weekend of the high country fishing season is big, but not big enough to camp when the weather is ugly. Home is a better option tonight. It will be wet, cold and windy.

The plan is get up at 3am tomorrow and head up to Lake Heron. Stories abound of how good the fishing is on opening day. We'll see. I'm bubbling with excitement.

It's been windy and warm on the flat today. I called in at my friends on the way to the hunter's place. They're away and have a stunning display of peony roses to pick. The wind had flattened a few but there were plenty to pick. The hunter took a little while to notice them in the corner ;-)

Everything is packed and sorted for tomorrow's early start. I'm excited. It seems a fairly unusual thing for a woman to like fishing. My background is saltwater fishing in the north of the country. A freshwater fish has eluded me but I'm hoping that will change this weekend.

The hunter has done most of the sorting and organising. He's more of a hunter than a fisherman but he's keen to see me have a weekend.

He's a good bloke :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.