The road to Lake Heron

It was 13 degrees when we left at 3.30am.

Within minutes is was lightly raining. Light changed to decently wet, very wet 1.5 hours later when we arrived in the dark at Lake Heron.

By day break we were standing in the rain in the lake casting, winding and casting again. Then rain changed to snow. 1 gave up, then 2 more called it a day and before long I was alone in my little spot on the lake casting and winding.

Not much went right. New braid fraying and misbehaving, fingers not working and knots not happening. That aside it was stunningly beautiful and oh so cold.

The hunter was warm and dry in the truck. Occasionally he disappeared to find out what was happening elsewhere. "Not a lot" he'd report. It seemed the fish thought it was too cold too.

Eventually my hands refused to work anymore and I had to agree with the hunter it was time to call it a day - 8.30am! We found a hay barn where I could change. I still had a grin especially with the offer to do it all again tomorrow.

This was leaving Lake Heron. I could hardly feel my hands. Big, beautiful and cold large

We cruised to Lake Clearwater and poked about. We stopped at the Staveley Store at 10.30 for breakfast.

The hunter took me into check and sort my braid at the fishing shop. I learned a new knot and splashed out on a new lure.

Sleep. Prepare for the next day. Sleep.

What a country I live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.