Success

After a small dance and a kiss the hunter photographed me with my first trout and the 584 layers of clothing I needed to survive the cold. (I think I'd taken 2 layers off by this point ;-)

The hunter and I were in the lake before day break. It was clear and oh so cold! So cold the guides in our rods froze up. There was ice between reel and handle, ice in the spool.

I changed my lure from what most people seem to use at Lake Heron and opted for a brown trout lure. I hooked a good sized rainbow trout but made the mistake of having it in the pan before I had it landed. It literally got off at my feet.

Then I hooked this brown trout. All concentration this time and safely landed, my first fresh water fish ever. The hoo doo is broken :-) I followed that up with a smaller salmon, all on the tasmanian devil lure for brown trout.

Opening weekend was the worst anyone could remember. I'm happy. The hunter chatted with an old fellow who wandered past. I caught more than 99% of those who fished all weekend on a lure no one else uses at Lake Heron.

The brown trout is in the freezer. I'll take it up for Mum and Dad next week. The hunter and I shared the salmon for dinner.

What a good weekend :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.