Glencoe with stupid ending

We were up quite late last night and were not too early on the road to Glencoe. We stopped at the Green Welly for a coffee and then entered the Rannoch Moor and Glencoe, scouting for good locations for tomorrow.
We had quite some fun having Neil posing with open hair, either as “vulnerable” (did not quite work so well) or as warrior :)

We tried a lot of places, were in Glen Etive, walked up the hill sides etc.
I was looking for a certain location an Instagrammer I follow is using, but we did not manage! Unfortunately!
We were also too late for the light in some locations and I was getting worried on how early we need to be there tomorrow.

When we were already on the way back we stopped at another place and looked for good backdrops.
Neil crossed a water stream over flat rocks.
I did not want to cross there as I am worried about slippery stones and looked for another way. All other ways were far too muddy - I would have sunk in the moor until my knees.
So I walked back and tried to cross where Neil crossed.

I almost made it and then my feet slipped away to the front and I fell with rather hefty impact on my bum and lower back! Directly on the flat rock.
Oh My God - I thought my back was broken. I could not get up, I rested on all four for a few minutes before I could get breath again and try to stand up, with Neil’s help this time.

I was terribly in pain and could hardly walk.
I knew immediately that there was probably no way I would be able to move tomorrow.
Such injuries just become worse over night and stay with you for a long time.

I still walked to the location I wanted to look at /wasn't worth it!!), but then we got into the car (me very carefully) and we continued our way home.

I was not happy and sitting did not feel right.
I asked Neil to drive directly to A&E and drop me off there, knowing from past injuries, that I wanted it checked and that I would need proper pain killers to survive the next days (weeks!).

2 very long hours later, we were at the Queen Elisabeth Hospital in Glasgow.
I told Neil to go to the gig we had planned and I will get home by Taxi. No need that he had to wait with me.

40 mintes later I saw the nurse, who suggested paracetamol!!! How ridiculous! I told her that I would need something stronger, and wanted to get checked.
She sent me out waiting again for the Doctor!
I was really in pain and sitting was not good at all!

2 hours later I finally saw the doctor. She checked me and was quite sure nothing was broken and finally gave me some proper stuff and a prescription!
She confirmed my suspicion that I will have “fun” a long time with this injury. Probably about 6 weeks on painkillers!! Horray!

I texted Neil to pick me up, it was already after 11 pm and we arrived there at 7:30 pm!
I was home at midnight, knackered and hoping the painkillers would kick in soon.

I texted Viktoria, that the shoot needed to be cancelled. What a shame! But we will do it later in the year, until then I have surely found this special location I was searching.

Blipping a Glencoe shot and in the extras some of Neil posing - he will hate me for that! Especially the first one :) Warrior losing his balance. But I like them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.