Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Station and REA painted

Today I finished painting the Glenwood Springs Station and REA warehouse.  The warehouse is a small one, but then so is Glenwood Springs.  Also in the blip are the two REA trucks I built and painted - at least the base green.  Red trim, tire black, and silver roof to come.  As well as REA decals.

One lesson today - that I should not have to relearn.  I always put a sealer base coat on my wood buildings with a solvent based spray can - cheap stuff from Walmart - $1 a can.  It is perfect for a base coat because it is cheap - very little color and goes on light so details are not covered.  After it drys, I airbrush on final acrylic colors.  The base coat prevents the wood from warping.  A tip I got from BarMills

Now - what I relearned.  I ran out of white primer.  So grabbed a can of gray primer and continued on.  I mean, a final coat of color will come.  What I forgot was that the station is mostly white trim and a base of light tan.  Looks great on the parts that were primed with white, awful on the gray primed sheets.  Totally different tan color - of course.  Duh - because of the dark primer on some.  So I had to repaint that siding again - and again.  It will look fine but a stupid mistake.

The REA building is a very simple kit - on the right of the blip.  Still have to stain the loading dock with alcohol/ink mixture.  Kit does not come with roofing but have some I made from painted newspaper.

The station kit is way more involved with lots of detail and little parts.  Should be fun.  Windows are three pieces plus the glass.  I will blip photos when they are done and on the layout.

Model railroaders are the original orders.  Both of these kits were purchased 30 years ago!  Still in great shape.  The station kit is out of production at Showcase Minitures and the warehouse is still available I think at Northwestern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.