In the Pipeline

For weeks now His Lordship and I have watched George Square and Middle Meadow being torn up and huge pipes being lowered into a deep channel running between the University buildings around the Square and the buildings of the old Edinburgh Royal Infirmary being refurbished on Lauriston Place for the University.

As we watched, we wondered what such huge pipes would be used for, but today I saw a workman to ask and apparently one pipe is for hot water and the adjacent one for air conditioning. No cats died as a result of my curiosity.

Later my original friend of many talents, over from Ireland for an appointment, and I lunched together at Söderberg where uncharacteristically I had words with the management over my table, booked 2 days ago, not being available but occupied by two students with laptops who had been there apparently for a considerable time having confused the café with the University Library.
Things were eventually sorted out and we got a tasty cake free gratis and for nothing as a dessert.

For the record, I’m sitting on the patio in the sun without my cardigan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.