You just couldn't make it up...!!

I guess it had to happen.

Regular followers of my blips will know that our local Council has been doing a lovely job of resurfacing the streets round here after many years of neglect. Indeed on Monday I blipped a photo of the resurfacing actually being done on a nearby street.

Well, within 24 hours Northumbrian Water decided to dig it up! This photo shows the exact spot where I took my blip on Monday. Speaking to folk who live on that street, I gather that it may have been dug up later that very day.

There's been a problem with the drains there for a long time, so it might have been a good idea to fix it before the resurfacing. I understand that utility companies are given good advance information of proposed resurfacing works so it's hard to think of an excuse.

We've had trouble with Northumbrian Water before. Some years ago our garden became flooded and it took over a year to persuade them that the water was coming from one of their pipes. They only agreed it was theirs when my Editor oversaw them doing a chlorine test on the water and found that they were doing it wrongly - she had to show them how to do it properly!

Northumbrian Water is owned by a Hong Kong company so I might have to go a long way to complain to the boss in person. I don't think I'll bother.

Rant over - for now :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.