Rūta and Ramunė

Sunday started slowly. Even more slowly than Saturday.

That’s what half a bottle of Carménère does to me these days. It was worth it. Saturday finished when the wine bar (sorry, vyno baras) closed at midnight. We were still sitting outside at the time.

Ramunė’s plan for the day was to go to visit Rūta who is the mother of one of her friends. She lost her husband recently, and the friend lives in Munich so she can’t visit as often as she’d like.

Rūta lives near Molėtai, 60km north of the city, and has a holiday home business on Lake Bebrusai. We spent the afternoon sitting admiring the lake, swimming in it, and eating. Well, I did the eating and they talked.

Lithuania is a country of lakes and forests, and we were in one of the most beautiful parts.

I think I know where I’ll be coming for next year’s summer holiday.

Lots of highlights today. The swims. The scenery. A taste of a Lithuanian summer Sunday afternoon. The smoked ham. The home made bread. The weather. The special calm you only get when you’re in the middle of a forest.   

Another was the look of delight on Rūta’s face when I thanked her for her hospitality in Lithuanian. Two of my 10 words...

The Blip is the view of the lake I spent the afternoon soaking up. Extras are Rūta and Ramunė chewing the fat, and our lunch table with the sauna behind it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.