Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Daily commute

We're finding new ways to get to G's school! These buildings are on the north-bound side of SZR; the one on the right is across the road. We had a nice blue sky, so I had to record it.

Volvo called to say that I need a new battery. Argh. So annoying. I opted to source one myself rather than buy from them, so got on the internet and the phone. There are now loads of AA type businesses in Dubai and several who help with batteries. They even deliver, so I got one to meet me at Volvo.

Nice to see my car again, but boy does it need a clean. I settled on a Bosch in the end and paid a bit extra for the 18-month warranty it comes with. Can't believe how quickly a new battery can be installed. That done, the car can have its last test drive and finally come home.

I raced to the other side of town to collect G, and we've been home since then. She's found a cute little personal cooler called Arctic Air. A low-cost solution to keep you comfortable when it gets too hot. I've been making enquiries on solar films to keep the heat out as double glazing is unheard of here. Needed even more after last Thursday's tree trimming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.