NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Jellyfish Alert

In summertime our sandy coastline isn’t only very populated for us Dutchies and loads of German neighbors……
It can also be very populated with uninvited jellyfish ruining the swimming pleasure of all others on the beach.

We even have a special jellyfish alert app to warn us for these transparent invasions!

Mostly it occurs on really warm days - in other words, the days you desperately want to be on the beach - and with wind from the east providing an undercurrent.


As jellyfish don’t swim but float they are pushed towards te beach, piling up over each other and stranding on the shoreline.

I went to Blijdorp Zoo with my daughters and visited the Oceanium where we could observe sealife under water. My youngest was mesmerized by the jellyfishes movements and I was impressed by sharks swimming over my camera. Don't forget to 'LARGE' peek at the extra's!

Have a nice day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.