Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sweet briar

Rosa rubiginosa

Back blipped

A last morning's walk in Suffolk before coming home.  (Yesterday's blip, which I've just posted, is here)

I was rather thrilled to get a shot of sweet briar, something we simply don't see in our part of the Itchen Valley, despite millions of dog roses.  It was growing on scrub between the marshes and farmland and to begin with I assumed it was a garden escape, but I'm assured it's not, so fingers crossed.  Such a pretty colour!

Dear blipfriends, can I also say how bowled over I am by your kindness yesterday?  I can't tell you how much your lovely comments mean to me, and of course the stars and hearts too.  I will be giving individual thanks, but here I must also say a general - and heartfelt - thankyou for all your good wishes.  Thank you!



2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze);  Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot;  Primroses;  Blackthorn
APRIL
Greater periwinkle;  Goat willow;  Ground ivy;  Cowslips;  Daisy;
Common field speedwell;  Wood anemone;  Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock);  Yellow archangel;  Common dog violet;
Crab apple;  Bluebell;  Red clover;  Germander speedwell;
Three-cornered leek;  Hawthorn;  Yellow flag; dandelion;  Common vetch; Dog rose;  Green alkanet;
JUNE
Bramble;  Stinking iris;  dropwort;  meadow buttercup; sweet briar;

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.