Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Glass feature

It's been a non-stop day. We got home late last night and I was too tired to think of blipping. What really sapped my energy was the Volvo blowing hot air right at the end of the evening. (Fortunately, the air-conditioning worked well whilst our friends were in the car.)

Back to the day - it is G's very short day, so I sat it out at The Mall for an hour. We came straight back home as I have organised for a solar film to be installed on the three large South-facing windows in this flat. I so wish I had thought of doing this earlier, like in 2014 or 2015 when I had a job! It is a relatively cheap solution to bring the electricity bill down instead of installing double-glazing. Long story short, the guys didn't come at the scheduled time of 2pm.

I am so glad a friend got in touch to ask what time we were meeting for coffee; an impromptu meeting organised yesterday but it slipped my mind. Glad we were able to have ninety minutes chatting about things happening with her that are really quite upsetting. We met at Carter's which gave the opportunity to get a shot of this unique glass feature again.

Home again for G's Skype lesson which happily went well today. And then, we had just enough time to have some dinner before the solar film guys showed up at 9:45pm. That's Ramadan timings for you. They were efficient though and it was fascinating watching how it's done. Very simple and a good solution to keep your energy costs down. It might even save us having to buy a tower fan I've had my eye on for years to keep the temperature in the living room more comfortable. Now I just have to monitor the difference it makes.

Wednesday done and dusted, and it's the start of the Football World Cup tomorrow. G & I are contemplating watching it on the QE2. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.