Border Tails

By Swannie

Busman’s holiday?

I didn’t have any plans for today, so last night I texted Tony, my old boss at St Boswells to ask who was doing my old school run this afternoon. They are a bit short of drivers just now and I was delighted to discover that he was covering it himself.

I invited myself along for the journey. It was great to see the new school as I left just a couple of weeks before the big move, and to catch up with most of the kids and I even got a word with the head teacher who has said to pop back one day for a tour of the school.

I was also delighted that when we got to the stop at the town centre, two of my favourite passengers got on. A lovely wee lady who only goes up the hill, but it is rather a steep hill, and Brian, the retired army captain, who was one of my regulars to and from Yetholm.

I was also reunited with the puddlejumper, who has been away to Mercedes to get fixed up and is now running like a dream. I took this shot when we were back in Kelso and Tony had to have a fag break before we headed back to the depot.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.