Borders Book Festival

“For four days in June, Melrose play host to the Borders Book Festival, this is a gathering of the great and good of the literary world”. This was a line that I said many times last year as I came into the town on the City Sightseeing Bus. This year, for the first time, I booked tickets for my friend and I to attend. We were at a talk by Dame Professor Sue Black, from Dundee university, Scotland’s leading forensic anthropologist about her life and her work all over the world. It was fascinating, but I decided to save a tree or two and perhaps buy her book for my Kindle.

When we came out, I was wishing I had my camera as Prue Leith, of Bake Off fame, walked past us, hand in hand with her husband, then Charles Spencer, brother of Diana, Princess of Wales appeared in a doorway. We had a lovely salted caramel ice cream and walked back to where the car was parked. I took a shot of the back of the abbey, looking against a super blue sky - see extra. If only the wind had died down as it was a bit noisy in the marquee.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.