Tick Tock

I’m hoping this doesn’t signal its going to be ‘one of those days!’

I had a conversation at the weekend with MrH about the time I spotted a tick in France burrowing into my arm.

I was sat on a balcony and didn’t feel it but saw it as it was so sunny bright and it’s dark colour contrasted against the paleness of my underarm skin. I removed it carefully by the head using some tweezers. I recall being in a worry at the time that I may get Lyme Disease but fortunately it was clear. I think it fell from the sky into me (maybe off a bird) as I saw it land on my arm, not conventional I know but thankfully I caught it early.

MrH was dubious about my account as ticks usually live in long grass and this weekend (a year or so after the event) he thought that maybe I’d imagined it all. I was so annoyed with myself for not keeping the tick as proof, I think you are supposed to do that to show the doctor in case you get ill.

This morning I had a shower ( very rare for me as I shower in the evening usually) and I noticed a black lump sticking out of my leg. Without thinking or studying I pulled it from me and noticed it was a tick! Today it was a bigger brown one. I’ve kept it this time! In sellotape and made a note of the day I was bitten on The calendar. Area is washed and antisepticated but there is a red bite mark and there wasn’t last time so I suspect it was on me for a while before I spotted it.

I have to wait now and hope I don’t get flu like symptoms or that bullseye rash (180!!!) , apparently it can take several weeks to manifest! Can’t quite believe I was talking about ticks only at the weekend and then this happens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.