A Ruinous Day

I started the day early by walking from where we had stayed overnight to the wrecks on the shore at Dungeness.  It was a long way – much further than I thought – a couple of miles - and after a while of photography, I had to walk all the way back.  It wasn’t distance that was the problem but walking on pebbles and stones – unstable and uncomfortable.  Pepper wasn't with me first thing, but this was taken a bit later in the day - she just jumped up on one of the boats.

I think Dungie has been tidied up a lot - I'm sure there were far more wrecks lying around when I was last here in October 2017.  So, don't delay if it's something you want to see or there may not be any left!
After that we moved on to Ashford to find Halfords and get a headlight bulb fitted to the motorhome; I also bought a USB connecting lead in the adjacent Currys to charge the battery on my camera.

First stop was at the village of Brooklands to see an interesting church with a separate tower – the nature of the ground did not allow the builders to put tower on church or it would have sunk! This particular church was historic with a door dating from early 12th century and a lead font from 1150 (the best example of this type of font from the 40 available in the country – also lots of historic boxed pews. Then on to find a couple of ruined churches described in my book of Wild Ruins – St Mary’s, Little Chart and St Mary’s Eastwell; these were delightful, suitably overgrown with ivy and the inevitable scattering of headstones.
We stopped by at some friends of John and had a lengthy cup of tea, promising to return in the not too distant future, before ending up at our current camp site; now on an electric hook-up we were able to recharge all batteries.

A good meal and a glass of wine to end off the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.