Beans

So the World Cup has kicked off and I'll be armchair bound for quite a few days in the next couple of weeks. The opening game defied my expectations, as did Russia, and it'd be great if the other games serve up as many goals. Doubt they will though.
Nipped up to the allotment this evening to check for wind damage. The road up was closed while a fallen tree was being sawn and hauled off but the allotments themselves seemed undamaged. I thought my plastic bottle cloches might have been scattered but they were still in place and I've still only lost a couple of the squash/courgette/cucumber plants they're protecting so that should be jungle before too long. The broad beans were a bit battered though so I spent some time staking them up, surprised they're flowering already. Then earthed up the spuds again, did a bit of watering, picked some rocket and, best of all, picked the first punnet of strawberries. Sweet!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.