Afterthought

Thursday.

A complete change of scene. I took the 16:45 train to Klaipėda. It’s on the Baltic coast, 3 hours 45 minutes away. The train was modern, fast and comfortable, but not high speed.

I saw more trees in those 3.75 hours than I’d see in a month in Scotland, but nothing you could call a hill.  

I have two nights “away” to see Klaipėda itself (the country’s port and 3rd city) and a bit of the coast.

I had a senior moment while packing, and the cable for my phone is still in Vilnius. My possible Blips are on the phone... where they must stay until Saturday night.

So the Blip is what was left after my lunch. Yes, not much. Goulash with potatoes, a beetroot salad and a glass of kvass. (€5 in total).

We had some fun with my order. The menu was in Lithuanian. The waitress didn't speak any English, but was happy to oblige in Russian. Another customer objected to her speaking Russian to me (it can be like that here - long story) and insisted on translating into English for me. Good job it was worth it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.