THAT HERON FLEW

almost above my head. A remarkable day I can tell you.
The weather looked nice and I only went to the supermarket to buy a pink pan for Mischa and made a little detour to look at an appartment that was for hire. I was punished immediately, first soft rain, then hard rain that eventually changed into hail.
I was glad it had rained so hard then the sky was cleared after that.
So I climbed my bike, it had been a long time since I cycled through Madestein and the Uithof, both large parks with many waterbirds.
The cityfarm Bijdorp where I first stopped had been closed for economical reasons, or so the local authorities had decided. The Heempark H.J. Bos was still open. A lovely path along the miniature different landscapes Holland owns.
Then I cycled along the large ponds, with the swans, the coots and ducks of course.
From Madestein to The Uithof one cross a busy car road and a lovely forest area stretches before you.
At the end of the park there are meadows. One field was covered with the white geese that in summer come for food, but they were now busy to eat every leaf of grass available. Next to these many herons standing along a canal, silent and absorbed by their dreams. From far I saw the two storks, a couple evidently.
A cormorant on a pole. And some black Galloway cows, they are new here.
From there I cycled home. Looked at my photos, Maria Callas singing her opera arias and duets, very inspiring.
At the end of the afternoon I met Mischa in the centre to look for her birthday gift and she found her preferred choice. Of course she made it her blip.
On our way back it rained, it was dark, the traffic a bit scary, and I remembered how this sphere always led to the Sinterklaas time, 5 December.

My haiku:

That happy silence
I saw the man enjoying
A paper nearby

And the proverb: from Einstein:

Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.