Local Heroes

An unexpected late invitation to the Evening News Local Heroes Awards at the Assembly Rooms as a guest of Marketing Edinburgh. As many people on the stage said, a humbling experience seeing people who have coped and shone in adversity. It was a night off for photography as I had very deliberately only taken my phone. These guys seemed so delighted when they got onto the stage, enjoying the applause and the recognition of their growing reputation as performers around the world. A little networking around the table with some of the other guests and thanks again to the Marketing Edinburgh team for inviting me along.
Of course being at the Awards meant I missed the football tonight - the game of the tournament so far as Portugal and Spain drew 3-3. Fortunately I was able to catch up with the action later, although not the same as watching it live, already knowing the score. Despite his obvious skill, athleticism and leadership qualities, I still cannot take to Ronaldo. In the dichotomy, I would always pick Messi, and I don't think it's just because of the Barca-Real choice (not to mention the Man U connection). Interesting in the lead up to the third Spanish goal I noticed Ronaldo's apparent disinterest in midfield when a fancy trick didn't come off and he let the ball pass him by with no effort to get it. A moment one of the pundits picked up on afterwards but was shouted down as there could be no criticism of the man who had just completed a hat-trick to tie the game. Fabregas had some interesting comments about the need for a powerful ego to be that big a player and obviously there is that going on. It must take a special strength to cope with the undoubted pressure that comes with his status in the game. And he shows his humanity with the failings, the weaknesses when his standards slip. So I should like him more but I find it impossible to get beyond a great respect for the skills he displays and the way he drags his team with him. Is there always a suspicion that for all his inspirational leadership of the team it  is in the service of his personal status, rather than the other way round? And of course it goes without saying that I would have none of these thoughts if he was Scottish or played for United or Leeds :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.