and through the wire...

By hesscat

End Of Season

As the months go by, it feels like my focus and thoughts move from one big thing to another and as each gets completed, a weight is lifted and I can chill out for a few days before moving on to the next. I can't tell if that is just life or just how I am dealing with things now. Work on the house, prelims, work on the house, various phases of booking holiday flights and accommodation, exams... I think we have been particularly busy since October last year but I am sure the to-do list is getting shorter... then again,  it's probably just life :-)

For the past few weeks my focus has been on our community cinema End Of Season showing of Paddington 2 and announcing our next season programme. Shortlist films, see if they are available, try to a get a mix of genres, gather all the details, prepare video trailers and leaflets and then finally you are sitting down, showing the previews before the main showing and you relax... then watch the film. I always enjoy these end of season showings, partly because of that reason... we're off air until September, but also because we choose particularly feel good films suitable for all ages... and we must have had from 6 years old up 80 year olds tonight. We had a bar (it could be the Spitfire in me talking at the moment), chips, teas, cakes, scones and marmalade.

Then we had Paddington 2... probably one of best films that meets our End Of Season requirements and unusually a sequel better than the already great original. We felt it a bit risky.... a film with a children's book character... you know, for kids... can we persuade adults to come to what might be perceived as a kids film? Yes was the answer, the vast majority were adults who had come without kids... and we got a rare 100% feedback score - we call it a bean vote. Success... job done.... we can rest easy.

Hmmmm... I hadn't planned to write about that... but I am still in that "that's that box ticked" and chilled out mode... oh and there's that bottle of Spitfire I smuggled home too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.